Friday, May 10, 2019

Is This Progress?

-->
Hello, Everyone!


New York City is finally warming and moving out of the 40-50 degrees drizzly-slump. I enjoy those overcast days when I have no temptation to run out into the sun, instead of keeping my rump seated until my writing quota is met. I find that with so many distractions in my life if I can get the writing in first, I’m much more settled for the rest of the day.

Photo by me at the NYC Hudson River Park. 

I’m busy writing and rewriting book two of my canceled Middle Grade, Science Fantasy, while waiting to hear about an R&R and a couple full requests for my YA Historical Fantasy. I’ve also been sending out short story submissions. I have to keep all my plates spinning! I put another SFF draft on hold after about fifty pages when I received notes for the Revise & Resubmit.

The agent who sent the R&R, asked for another if I’m inclined to do so. She’s awesome, and gave me detailed notes on the first 60 pages! So – yeah, I’m eager and looking forward to tackling this R&R again, especially with her professional suggestions.
I originally drafted this story in Omni, (NaNoWriMo) then rewrote the tenses, and POV, and changed it again.

I’m nearing completion on a round of revisions for my MG novel, and once I send it off to beta-readers, I’ll jump back into my YA Historical, Fantasy edits. 

Sometimes I have to write a lot of wrongs before the right way exposes itself. At least I keep moving. Ha! Some distance helps find the humor in this relentless process.

Oh, and one other thing, the Publisher of THE UNMOVING SKYis closing. Another small press shutting its doors. I will get my rights back, but I’m so unsure of what to do next.  Considering this is my second fiasco with a publisher, I really, really, begging you, Universe, for a wonderful, compatible, hard working agent. A good agent will help protect you in this business. 

Friday, March 22, 2019

MG Book Review: Charlie Hernández and the League of Shadows


Charlie Hernández and the League of ShadowsCharlie Hernández and the League of Shadows by Ryan Calejo
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Reposted from my review on Kidliterati.

Charlie Hernandez’s parents are gone. While waiting at child services for placement, he discovers tiny horns sprouting from his head and recalls the stories his abuela told him night after night, especially those about the Morphling, the myth about a young hero who always defeats his nemesis—an evil twice-cursed witch—by manifesting some kind of an animal trait.

But those were just made up stories.

No longer sleeping at the police station, he’s placed temporarily with the elderly doll collector, Mrs. Wilson, and just when life begins to feel normal again, feathers sprout up all over his body—at middle school! Thinking fast, Charlie ditches into the office and finds a long-sleeve sparkly snow jacket in the lost and found. Wearing a ski jacket during the afternoon in Miami shouldn’t bring any unwanted attention.

Then he runs into Alice-the-Terrible, 6-foot-tall-fastball-crushing all-state softball player—and she wants the locket he’s wearing. The one thing he has left of his mother’s.

Not while Violet Rey is around—super-sleuth-school-newspaper-reporter—with the megawatt smile stops Alice in her tracks. The same girl he’s crushed on since first grade. Turns out, Violet has admired Charlie’s father, the animal geneticist, ever since his presentation on the harm in breeding dogs, she even used it for the school paper. Violet is very curious about his mother’s locket and knows it’s an antique (her father owns a pawn shop). Is there anything Violet doesn’t know? But it’s locked and Charlie’s unable to open it. Violet has a look and it clicks open in seconds. Inside, they find a miniature map, with the same horns and feather insignia Charlie sees everywhere.

Together, they make an unlikely team, and go underground with the tiny map, in search of answers to where Charlie’s parents are, and they come face to face with supernatural villains, myths and folklore from all over the Spanish-speaking world.
Conversations with a calaca, and La Llorona, the weeping woman, after following the glowing orbs of La Luz Mala, deep into the woods, among many others. Charlie discovers the stories his abuela told him were true. Was she preparing him?

An exciting, fast-paced Middle Grade adventure! With friends standing up for each other and working together. I loved Violet’s character and the skills she has when they’re needed and Charlie’s self-deprecating humor. Rich in cultural mythology, and so much fun! For further study of these fascinating tales, the glossary of Spanish folklore is a good starting point. Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson, or anyone who loves magic, adventure, and tracking down a mystery.




View all my reviews

Monday, February 25, 2019

YA Book Review: What the Woods Keep by Katya de Becerra


What the Woods KeepWhat the Woods Keep by Katya de Becerra
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Reposted from my review on The Kidliterati Blog.

Hayden has just turned eighteen, and she’s living on her own for the first time, when she gets a call about the will her mother left. Though her mother is technically missing, not dead.

“My mother remains elusive, in the periphery of my vision—there and not-there, dead and alive, like Schrödinger’s theoretical cat, its state altering the moment I focus on it. It’s been a decade since I last heard Mom’s voice …”

The dreams of her wearing full body armor and riding a horse while leading an army through the fog and ravaged cities, crying We’ll rise again have returned, and what’s with the white ravens that keep appearing in her dreams and real life? Hayden has a lot of questions.

It’s suggested that she keep mum about the will and not mention anything to her father, which may not be difficult considering he’s a physicist with his head buried always in his work. Even though he’d lost his tenure, due to outrageous claims about Nibelungs and multi-dimensional pathways and string theory.

Thank goodness, for her roommate, Del Chauvet, French-Senegalese Brooklynite, and her constant determination to give her a makeover or find her a date, especially since the last one left Hayden stranded. But Del has something special planned for her 18th birthday.

Memories and whispers in a foreign tongue, and Hayden’s mother watching from behind the dark trees surrounding her childhood home wearing a sad smile, as if she knows what’s coming. Hayden’s therapist, Dr. Erich reminds Hayden that those memories are long gone. But Hayden needs answers.

Hiding the will from her father, Hayden and Del leave their Brooklyn apartment to visit her childhood home in Promise, Colorado, and search for the gifts her mother left with the cryptic message:
She needs to listen with her blood. My second condition is that Hayden uses my gifts to destroy my darkest secret—my hidden treasure, my heaviest burden.

When Hayden struggles to understand, she interprets things using theoretical physics, and the author does this beautifully at the start of each chapter with musings of the metaphysical, the forces of gravity, and Murphy’s Law, and how it relates to Hayden’s life.

My kind of genre-mash-up, that twists urban fantasy and science fiction with the creepy factor that comes with a dark woodland mystery along with a gripping pace and self-sacrificing friendships. Quite unlike anything I’ve read before. I’d recommend this book for mature YA readers.



View all my reviews

Monday, January 28, 2019

Creating Another Future .... in my Fantasies.



Do you like science-fiction 🚀 and/or fantasy? How do you feel about anthologies? You can order any of these in print or ebook on my website KL Hallam 




                         Duotrope informed me that I had a good acceptance rate.  wink. wink.



-->
If you love Science Fiction and stretching the possibilities of reality, perhaps Issue #13 of Alien Dimensions paying tribute to Dr. Who and strong female characters will interest you!  Read my 5k short story “Charger Nine”.


Or my homage to Mary Shelly's Frankenstein in Alien Dimensions # 16

G.L.O.R.I.A.


I created G.L.O.R.I.A., to be more than a fire weapon.
GLORIA was my monster. 

-->
Gold-Lithium-Osmium-Ruthenium-Iridium-Aluminum.



My Science Fantasy "Over and Over"  was featured in the debut issue of Fantasy Short Stories Anthology. 

Future Earth: 22X. The last of the dreamers are brought back from death, but only those who hold memories and can recreate a new future for the dying human species. 


The links on my website will also take you to either B&N or Amazon Whichever you prefer. 
  

"The path of the imagination lead to perfect knowledge"  ~ Not sure who said this, maybe something I imagined because I've had it in my mind for years. 

Today I found Einstein's quote:

"Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited, whereas imagination embraces the entire world, stimulating progress, giving birth to evolution."


 I'm here for the evolution!   
 Happy Reading!